Challenge Accepted.

No photos to post today, although I’ve been crafting like a machine. Since I’ve got a nice little “in” at the bookstore (its first employee ever, actually), my boss has agreed to give me a little bit of space to sell my hand-made journals! And so, for the past few weeks, since the end of October, I’ve been making as many journals as I can think to make, from journals made out of the shell of old books to hand-stamped mini-journals, I’ve been busy.

Very busy, in fact. On top of my journal making mayhem (that seems to be taking over our dining room table and the space along the wall next to the table) I’ve been working two jobs and am trying to plan a wedding with my fiance who lives an hour away from me. Maybe this isn’t the best time in my life to be trying to bolster this little side business (a.k.a. The Fledgling Song) but I don’t see a better time in the near future. And I think I remember some quote saying something along the lines of you’ll never be “ready” and there will never be a “good time” to do something, so just do it anyway.

So, here I am, sitting at my computer after 1am, updating my blog (because according to every resource I’ve read or listened to concerning the topic of starting a handmade business, blogs are important) after spending roughly 13-14 hours working already. I can already see that the next few months are going to be a challenge.

So to combat this challenge that is already seemingly too big to handle, I am going to try to post about the small victories that I make every week. Today’s victory: I finally managed to scan in medical and zoological illustrations from some old books that I own and was able to incorporate them into journal covers (again, photos coming soon. Give me a break, it was a pretty long day…) which I am so so so happy with!

Until next week,

Charlene

P.S. This book has been very inspiring for me, I found it at my local library and it’s now at the top of my Christmas list this year. If you find yourself even considering beginning your own handmade business (no matter how big or small!) you should definitely check it out!

The Handmade Marketplace, by Kari Chapin

One thought on “Challenge Accepted.

Leave a Reply

