Just another ripped jeans story

After discovering a hole in my favorite pair of jeans, I was quite dismayed. The number of times I’ve had to throw in the towel on a pair of jeans has been, well, a lot. It makes me want to just be done with the whole thing. Wearing jeans, I mean. First there’s the ordeal of finding a pair that even fits. Then there’s the whole price-tag shock when you realize you have to pay double for this single item of clothing than what you had wanted to in the first place. But then you tell yourself, “That’s OK, I’m making an investment, these jeans are going to last me a while.” and you take the glorified denim up to the check-out counter. Then you experience somewhere around a year or so of blissfully comfortable days in your nice new jeans. They make you feel casual and cool, they go with you almost everywhere.

But then. They slowly begin to decline. You notice a few spots wearing thin and you realize you only have a short time left. You wear them less often, pulling them out only for special occasions, trying desperately to prolong their life and dreading the day when you’ll have to venture back out to the mall to find a new pair of jeans. No matter how tenderly you care for your precious jeans though, the day finally comes when the threads begin to gently pull apart and leave you with a gaping hole that will only grow with time. Sure, you can patch them, but eventually you have to say good-bye.

That’s how it will be with this pair. I’ll try a patch but I’m not even sure that will work. I can’t give up wearing jeans indefinitely, but I’m thinking if I had more skirts and dresses, I might wear jeans less often, therefore making the “investment” they are a little more worthwhile. So I’ve been looking at some patterns. I’ve been meaning to take on a clothing sewing project, and now I have the encouragement I need to take the trip out to the fabric store and buy a pattern.

This is the dress style that I’m currently crushing on:

I’m thinking if I can find a nice floral fabric I could try to replicate the look with one of these two patterns:Screen Shot 2014-05-06 at 8.50.03 PMScreen Shot 2014-05-06 at 8.51.59 PM

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’ll let you know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

