Knitting to Stories

I’m getting so close to finishing the cardigan I’ve been working on for about a month and a half now, so today has pretty much been dedicated to sitting in our comfy armchair, my project progressing stitch by stitch and inch by inch. I’m working on the last major piece, which is the front left side, and then it just needs to be blocked, sewn together, and some finishing touches added on. Eep, I’m so ready to wear this thing!!

1 2

You can see my handy yarn bowl from this post being used in the first photo. It is seriously so handy, no more balls of yarn rolling all over the place! I’ve also been listening to “A Storm of Swords”, book three in George R.R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire series, (more commonly known as Game of Thrones). We had a free trial for HBO a couple months back and we decided to watch the TV series, and I enjoyed them a lot, except for the few times I had to cover my eyes and hide behind Husband because I just did not want to see some of the super super gory scenes. But then, we finished the most recent season and I was left wanting to know how the series ends! So I went back to the beginning and got the Game of Thrones audiobook out from the library and started listening. I’m not quite sure how I am going to cope once I finish the most recent book, I just want to know what happens. I guess it will be just like when I waited for the next Harry Potter book to come out all over again!

Anyway, all that to say, I love that I can listen to books (or watch movies) while crafting, and when I look back at a finished project I can always associate whatever I might have been seeing or hearing at the time with the piece. I still associate the Lord of the Rings with a CD I had when I was younger because I listened to the CD every night while I read those books. What kinds of things do you listen to or do while you practice whatever hobby you might have? And also, I’ll need some book suggestions once I get through the rest of this series, anyone have any ideas?

2 thoughts on “Knitting to Stories

  1. A dear friend gave me a subscription to audible.com and I never really used it. Your post has really encouraged me to try it again, as it seems to be a good cure for the fact that I don’t “read” since I started knitting.

    • So happy to hear that! I love books and reading, and audiobooks have really given me the ability to keep “reading” even when I don’t have the free time it requires!

Leave a Reply

