How to upcycle a bed sheet

The other weekend we took a day trip to the beach, but the day before we left I realized we didn’t have any blankets that I wanted to take with me to lay out on the sand. I wanted something light-weight with a fun pattern, but most of all, cheap. So where else would I go to find such a thing but Salvation Army! As I looked through the rack of bedsheets I found quite a few that I liked just for the print on the fabric and started to get very inspired. Once I had an armload (of which only one was destined to head down to Deleware with us) I took them up to the register and paid for them. A happy coincidence was that they were all half price, so I scored all of my sheets for around $5 total! A combination of saving money and recycling always makes me a happy person!

The one sheet I bought just screamed over-the-shoulder tote to me, so I found a nice tutorial here and I just love how it turned out!

1This tutorial includes a printable pattern and easy, clear instructions. Even someone with only the most basic knowledge of sewing could make this bag!

2Technically, this bag is also reversible, but I used plain white cotton on the inside so I don’t think I’ll be doing that. But there are so many possibilities with this pattern, I’m already thinking of adding some pockets and other custom touches to make this easy, effortless, boho bag even more functional.

3 Thanks to my husband for helping me snap some shots of the bag in use! He’s just the greatest. šŸ™‚

Let me know what you think of this upcycled bed sheet project. I’ve also got plenty left of this fabric, I wonder what else I could make it into? I’ve also got ideas for future projects in the works, so stay tuned for big things to come!

4 thoughts on “How to upcycle a bed sheet

Leave a comment